Metropolitan Council

The Metropolitan Council was created in 1967 to establish policies to address the region's forecasted transportation, aviation, water resources and parks and open space needs. The Council also provides transportation services including bus and rail and paratransit services for people with disabilities and wastewater collection and treatment. The Council consists of 17 members; one at large member who serves as chair and 16 members that represent geographic areas. All 17 members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate. A mix of property taxes (10%), user fees (42%), state and federal funds (46%) and miscellaneous revenues (2%) support the Council's operations. The Council normally meets at 4 p.m. on the second and fourth Wednesday of the month.

Follow the links below to access information on the Met Council website. 

To see what we are following at the Met Council, check out our newsletter, Metro Cities News

Metropolitan Council
390 Robert Street North, St. Paul, MN 55101
Phone: 651 602-1000
TTY: 651 291-0904